COVID-19 response

For the latest information about the City of PAE’s response to the COVID-19 situation please visit this page.

Dismiss alert

Dry Areas - Alcohol free zone

A Dry area is a designated area where the consumption and possession of alcohol in unsealed containers is prohibited under the Liquor Licensing Act 1997.

Council has 7 Dry Areas located in the following areas:

  • Semaphore Foreshore including the northern car park from South Terrace to Derby Street
  • Time Ball Tower located on the corner of Semaphore Road and The Esplanade
  • Port Canal Reserve and Joyce Snadden Reserve in Port Adelaide
  • Jack Watkins Reserve located on Churchill Road, Kilburn (next to Costco)
  • Denver Terrace Reserve
  • Peter McKay Reserve
  • Blair Athol Reserve

A temporary Dry Area also exists along Semaphore Rd from Causeway Rd to The Esplanade on New Years Eve and Australia Day.

The Dry Areas are sign posted with Maps and/or No Alcohol signs.

To assist Council in monitoring the effectiveness of these Dry Areas you can report alcohol related incidents in designated Dry Areas directly to police (telephone 131 444)

Special Event Licenses

If a person is intending to host a party or organising any event where alcohol is to be sold, supplied or consumed in a public place they may be required to obtain a liquor licence under the Liquor Licensing Act 1997. More information can be obtained from the Office of the Liquor Licensing Commissioner Ph 8226 8410 or

Semaphore Foreshore & Timeball Tower (Semaphore)

Port Canal Reserve & Joyce Snadden Reserve (Port Adelaide)

Jack Watkins Reserve (Kilburn)

Denver Terrace Reserve (Kilburn)

Peter McKay Reserve (Kilburn)

Blair Athol Reserve (Blair Athol)