COVID-19 response

For the latest information about the City of PAE’s response to the COVID-19 situation please visit this page.

Dismiss alert

About Council

The City of PAE  acknowledges that we are on the traditional country of the Kaurna people of the Adelaide Plains. Their cultural heritage, beliefs and relationship with the land are of continuing importance today.

Our City began as two separate cities, the City of Port Adelaide and the City of Enfield, each with their own diverse history.

Port Adelaide is an historic area that was formed parallel with the City of Adelaide and was central to the colonisation of South Australia. Port Adelaide has traditionally been the gateway for settlement, trade, shipping, commerce and (until the 1960s) immigration in the State. Port Adelaide's old colonial buildings near the wharves still remain and have been declared a State Heritage area.

In 1853 the area we now know as Enfield was part of the District Council of Yatala, and included areas of Walkerville, Prospect and Klemzig. The City of Enfield was formed in 1864. Until the 1940s Enfield was predominantly an agricultural area, with the fertile country along the River Torrens and wheat and grain fields in its northern reaches. The area includes Klemzig, where German immigrants fleeing persecution in Prussia established a village in 1838, Sunnybrae Farm which was the site of the first waterborne sewerage system in Australia and the South Australian landing site of Sir Ross and Keith Smith.

The City of Port Adelaide Enfield was established on 26 March 1996, when the two cities amalgamated. Our Council is established to provide governance and management of our area at the local level.

The City is located in the north-western suburbs of Adelaide, about eight kilometres from the CBD. It is bounded by the Cities of Salisbury in the north, Tea Tree Gully and Campbelltown in the east, Walkerville, Prospect and Charles Sturt in the South and the Gulf of St Vincent in the west.

The City of PAE is one of the largest Councils in metropolitan Adelaide, covering an area of about 97 square kilometres. The city is divided into seven wards that span across 51 suburbs.

Our city is home to some of the State's finest historical buildings and landmarks, together with a wealth of parks, cultural facilities beaches and recreational areas.